achicksperspective

My thoughts on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Oh, and sports too.

We Can’t Be Friends

As we get older and wiser, I think we begin to eliminate people in our lives that cause nothing but drama and aggravation. I know, at my age, that I don’t need any other forms of stress in my life, other than the ones I cause on my own. I know that sometimes it’s difficult to dissolve a friendship with someone you have known for a long time. Especially, when most of us aren’t willing to sit down with that person, and just tell them that we cannot be friends until they get their life under control. Usually, we decide to just avoid these people, which of course, just causes more drama and stress, as they are constantly trying to get in touch with us. We have all been there, and it sucks. Fortunately, that is not what this blog is about. 😉

Today, I am writing about the people who I think are going to be easy to eliminate from my life. Those individuals who’s beliefs, on certain subjects, are just unacceptable to me. I have never let a disagreement, come between me and my friends. Quite the contrary. I love a good debate. Red Sox vs Yankees, Lucas vs Spielberg, Batman vs Ironman. Ok, that last one is a little ridiculous. We all know that Ironman is way cooler. Virtually indestructible, better weapons, and he can fly. There is no debate. Wait, what? Sorry about that. Anyway, I think as I get older I realize that there are just certain beliefs in this world that are just not kosher. Some are based in hate and others in stupidity. Either way, from this point on, they will not permit me to continue our friendship. If you finish reading this and find any of your beliefs listed, please have the courtesy to let me know, so we can move on from each other politely. If you do not tell me, then you are the one who has to look in the mirror everyday and realize that you were too much of a coward to admit that you had these beliefs. Which should immediately send up a red flag for you.

Most of the things that we must agree on, have to do with human rights. Not everyone on this Earth is created equal. I know we like to say we are, all the time, but we’re not. Some people are stronger than others. Some are smarter than others. Some people are a different color than others, and some people have a different sexual orientation than others. However, what is true, is that everyone deserves to be “treated” equally. I am not going to allow any person to be my friend who doesn’t agree with that statement. Men are superior to women? WRONG! White’s are the superior race. WRONG! Gay is a choice. WRONG! Same sex marriage is wrong. WRONG! No, we don’t disagree. YOU ARE WRONG! If I say my name is Jeff and you say it’s Jerome, we don’t have a difference of opinion. You’re wrong, and I’m right. PERIOD!

Where does anyone get off thinking that they have the right to do something, and someone else doesn’t. How arrogant are you? If someone is qualified to do a job, it makes no difference what color, age, sex, or orientation they are. Hire the best candidate. Plain and simple.

If two, non-related “people” are in love, you have no right to deny them the right to be legally married. I put “people” in quotes to avoid the obvious avenue that some people against gay marriage use, which is, “If a man can marry another man, the next thing you know, they’ll want to marry an animal.” No, jackass. Only a weirdo would want to marry an animal. We are talking about two gay human beings, that can walk and talk and drive cars, that have human emotions and want to be given the same rights as everyone else. The truth is, that a lot of the people against gay marriage are really just against gay in general. Great segueway.

I don’t care how many gay people you know or like. If you think being gay is a choice, then you’re out. Without getting into great detail, I just give you the only two examples that need be given. Portia Derossi and Ricky Martin. Two gorgeous celebrities, with tons of money, that could get ANY PERSON ON EARTH, but are with a member of the same sex. What the hell could possibly be there motivation? Gee. Let me think. Um, let’s see. THEY’RE GAY. Get with it folks. It’s not hard to follow along. Just because you fear what you don’t know, which is likely more than just this, doesn’t mean you have the right to hate on someone else. You’re a bigot, and you are not my friend.

Naturally, if you’re a racist in any way, you’re a jackweed, and you’re out. I hardly think I need to write a long paragraph about that. Of course, I know that anyone who falls into this category would NEVER admit it, so just don’t let me find out. Especially, if you want your teeth to remain in your mouth.

Now these seem to be very obvious reasons to not be friends with someone. At least to most of us. They are all based in discrimination and hate. I do however, have a couple other things that cut you from the list for shear stupidity. Look out, because I might lose someone now.

As an atheist, I am willing to agree to disagree, about the existence of a God. What I am not willing to disagree on, is anything in the bible or religion, that science has disproved. First and foremost, evolution. If you do not believe in evolution, you are either brainwashed or stupid. It doesn’t really matter which one you are, you are out. That’s it. Sorry if I lost anyone there, but I can not be friends with anyone I don’t respect, and I can’t respect anyone who would disregard hard evidence for “belief.”

The other one is climate change. Again, if you don’t believe that it’s happening, then you’re a moron who’s being lead around by your party. Nearly 100% of the scientific community is in agreement on this subject, and the only ones who aren’t, are the few that have chosen party over truth. Let me be clear, I am not saying global warming. I am also not saying that we, as people, are causing it, or making it happen any faster. I am merely saying that it is happening, and if you don’t believe it, then you are a fool. Fools can’t be my friend.

In the end, this blog may come off a little egotistical. The whole, “I’m right and your wrong, so go away” attitude. Hey, lets face it, that’s exactly what I was going for. If you don’t like it, then dissolving our friendship should come very easy. Ultimately, I feel I have done a pretty good job choosing my friends over the years. I say pretty good because I truly feel that at least some person in my circle of friends will not be in agreement on all these thoughts. Whoever you may be, just remember what I said. If you can’t agree to end our friendship amicably, then you need to ask yourself why. Maybe the answer will lead to a change in your thinking. Lets hope so. Much love to all.

One comment on “We Can’t Be Friends

  1. Katie
    October 11, 2011

    I don’t disagree with any of this. Love your posts! You are an excellent writer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2011 by in Random Thoughts, Uncategorized.
