achicksperspective

My thoughts on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Oh, and sports too.

That’s Just How I Roll

We’ve all seen a hundred movies, in our lives, where the hero avenges the death of his family. We sit there thinking to ourselves that if put in the same situation, we would do the same thing. Hell, I just watched Law Abiding Citizen the other day, and took joy in the retribution Gerard Butler dealt out to the men who raped and killed his wife and daughter. They deserved it, and he deserved the right to deliver it. Yet every week in this country, these scenarios play out in real life yet the avenging part never takes place. Why?

Most people have heard about the grizzly murder of the Petit family in Connecticut. Two guys break in, strangle the wife to death, rape one of the daughters, beat the husband, then pour gas over the girls, 11 and 17, and set them on fire. The husband manages to escape while the men are upstairs, and they are inevitably captured. This man just lost EVERYTHING at the hands of these men. Yet, like so many other cases in this country, he let’s due process run its course, and one man will do life and the other will lose his.

THAT JUST WOULDN’T BE ENOUGH FOR ME!!!

Now I understand that the elaborate revenge methods, that take place in the movies, are very convoluted. Tracking the assailant down on your own. Capturing them, and then dishing out some torture and inevitable death. It certainly helps the plot, but it is a little over the top. Although, we would all love to look this person in the eye and say something pointed, right before we killed them, I would just be satisfied with the part where I get to kill them.

I think it was back in the 80’s that I remember a story of a guy who killed his sons kidnapper in an airport. A news crew actually caught it on tape. I don’t remember if the perpetrator actually killed the boy, but it was bad either way. The authorites caught the guy and had flown him back to face the charges. The Dad found out when he was coming in and went to the airport with a gun. He pretended to be on a pay phone near the gate, and when the police were walking him by, the Dad turned around and shot him in the head. No extravagant plan. Nice and simple.

I not only would want to do the same thing, I think if this happened to any one of my real close friends’ families, and you know who you are, I would help them do it. I know the argument against all this is the “what about your own family? You would be leaving them without a Father.” Call me the last of a dying breed, but I choose honor over all else. My friends are my family too. I would do anything for them. “We ride together, we die together. Bad boys for life.” It sounds cliche, but it’s the truth. Those who know me, know it is. So am I the only one?

At a time when we constantly complain about the legal system in this country, how is it that vigilante justice NEVER seems to happen. Could it just be the luck of the Irish that keeps bad things from happening to people who would actually seek TRUE retribution? Are the criminals just picking the right people? I don’t know. What I do know is this. If the awful events that took place at the Petit home, happened to me, there is NO WAY that those men would live one day longer than it would take for me to kill them. PERIOD!!!!!! Just give me a few weeks of practice with a sniper rifle, and I’d pick the guy off from a building across the street, when he is walking into the courthouse.

I must admit though, if it were possible to actually track down and capture the perpetrator, like they do in the movies, there is likely no limit to the things I would do to make that person suffer or the amount of time I would make that suffering last. But hey, that’s just me.

Now I gotta go get back to painting my daughters toe nails. See ya. LMAO. 😉

4 comments on “That’s Just How I Roll

  1. Michelle Fuller Fitzgerald
    November 12, 2011

    I have always said the same thing. Hurt my child and you won’t have to worry about the trial, you’ll never make it.

  2. Linda Roberts
    November 12, 2011

    I agree with you 100 % Maybe you could seek employment as a bounty hunter getting revenge for all the unavenged victims.

  3. Sue Muscato
    November 14, 2011

    Every once in a while you make total sense to me. I savor these times. Very well said… and I couldn’t agree more!

  4. Aidan Chick
    January 7, 2012

    I like this blog alot. I would do the same thing for Q and A.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2011 by in Random Thoughts, Uncategorized.
