achicksperspective

My thoughts on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Oh, and sports too.

A Mothers Day Blog To My Big 4.

moms

I couldn’t possible let Mothers Day go by without saying something about the Mothers in my life, and what they mean to me. So here goes.

To Susan Young, my biological Mother:

You gave me life, then you gave me life experiences. When we moved to Oregon in 1975, and then Idaho in ’78, I didn’t like it very much, yet you still found all kinds of things to make things interesting. Camping, fishing, skiing, and great road trips. When I turned 11 and I wanted to move back to live with my Dad, you made it happen. I know that could not have been easy. When I reached high school age, and got great at baseball, I would always pass up playing all-stars in the summer to come see you. When I got to be 16 and decided that I really wanted to stay and play, you understood. Another decision that could not have been easy. The next year you came to Boston, for the first time in years, to see me graduate. It was great having you here. After you left you were diagnosed with M.S. That was nearly 24 years ago. In that time I have seen you go through the ups and downs related to the disease. Through it all you have always been a fighter. Refusing to let it beat you or define you. A fact that anyone who really knows you would ever doubt. Unfortunately, during this time period we have seen each other a whole lot less. Life can do that sometimes when people live so far apart. It has only been with my move to Dallas that we have had the chance to see each other every year. I am so grateful for that. I know that we haven’t exactly had a typical Mother/Son relationship, but I have always felt your love reaching out to me, no matter where in the world we were. Just know that my love for you was always doing the same thing.

To Madeline Chick, my Step-Mother:

Where do I start? In the beginning I would consider our relationship to be somewhat indifferent. We got along pretty well, and had some real fun together, but there was always a little something missing. Even today, I’m really not sure what it was, but something was absent. Then I reached my teens and everything went to hell. At the time I was convinced it was all you, but now I can say it was likely all me. Somehow, no matter how badly we got along, you still managed to have some semblance of faith that I would turn things around. How you did it is beyond explanation. I was a complete dumbass and I’m surprised you didn’t just choke the shit outta me. Thankfully you didn’t and I actually did start to wise up. Somewhere along the way I began to realize how much I loved and respected you. You were my Mom, not my Step-Mom. In many ways, you did more to mold me as a human being than my real Mom, because I had spent so much more of my life with you. Before long, we began to build a strong relationship and now it is about as good as it gets. I am truly appreciative of all the lessons I have learned from you. The easy ones and the hard ones. I hope you know that I cannot imagine having a Mother any better than you. I love you with all my heart and always will. You’re the best.

To Nedra Griffin, my Mother-in-Law:

Gigi. There are so many things that you have done that I am so thankful for. We met in the 90’s but by no means had any type of relationship. You were just Alicia’s Mom. Then she moved to Boston to be with me and things changed. I remember when you would call to talk to Alicia. I would see your number on the caller id and I would always answer the phone instead of just handing it to her. I truly enjoyed that 1-2 minutes of banter we would have before you guys would talk. You always cracked me up. I used to think that you had some Boston DNA in you because you could drop an F-bomb with the best of ’em, and your sarcasm was spot on. Not typical traits from a Texan. Ever since we moved to Dallas in ’08, you have done more for my family than I can ever thank you for. From letting us stay with you during our transitional periods, to taking care of Quentin and Addison on nearly an everyday basis. I know it has not been easy for you at all, but you’ve done it anyway. Quite honestly, I don’t know where we would have been without you. When other men bitch and moan about their Mother-in-Laws, I rave about you to anyone who asks, and that’s no bullshit. I am honored to have you in my life and I love you dearly.

To Alicia Chick, Mother of my Children:

I don’t think it’s any secret what I think of you. You are my wife, my friend, my world. More importantly, you have given me 2 unbelievable children, while also assuming many motherly duties with Aidan. For someone who had no parental experience when she came to Boston, you definitely hit the ground running and learned on the fly. Together we learned the do’s and don’t of parenting very quickly. When it came to having our own child, I knew you would do great. I can still remember you waking me up at 6am on Thanksgiving morning, in 2006, to tell me you were pregnant. You were officially a Mother. It’s been over 5 years since that day and you are proving to be excellent at it. I love when I am watching them and one of them does something that reminds me of you. It always puts a smile on my face. You are engaging, smart, and caring and that is constantly apparent when I see the way our children are maturing. You always remember the little things and are quick to quietly remind me when I am not doing something I should. You are stern, but fair, and your children always come first, as it should be. On the flip side, your kids absolutely adore you with every fiber of their being. Seeing the complete joy in their eyes when you would come home from work everyday. Every. Single. Day. Simply awesome. You are everything that a Mom should be. You do a phenomenal job and I am so happy to know that our children have a Mother like you. I love you, Babe. You’re the best.

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY

2 comments on “A Mothers Day Blog To My Big 4.

  1. Tim Norton
    May 13, 2012

    Jeff it actually choked me up a little and that is hard for me to say

  2. Sue Muscato
    May 13, 2012

    Omg…am I crying? I am! This is certainly a new reaction to reading your blog! Much better than my blood boiling! Very sweet! =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
