achicksperspective

My thoughts on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Oh, and sports too.

We’re All Hypocrites

While I am waiting for my car to be washed today, I am watching the tv in the waiting area, and they are discussing how furious people in Connecticut are about the fact that they still have no power. One resident after another, is on camera, bitching and moaning about it. “This is ridiculous. It’s cold outside, and we haven’t had power for a week. Where are all the trucks? What’s taking so long?” The reporter in the studio begins debating whether or not the power company should have to pay a penalty for the delay in restoring power. All this complaining got me thinking about something I have been saying for years. WE ARE ALL HYPOCRITES!!!!

That’s right. I said it. Hypocrites. Every last one of us. Well, nearly every last one of us. It doesn’t matter what the subject is, We The People only care how it’s going to effect us, as individuals. Screw everyone else, and give me what I want. I want what’s best for “me”.

I constantly hear people complaining about the politicians in Washington D.C. “They don’t care about the people, they only vote for what’s best for them.” Novel concept, but let me ask you this. How many times have you supported ANYTHING in this country that was good for the majority, but bad for you? Let me help you out with this one. NEVER! Although, I know a few of you out there are the exception to this, the very large majority are not. You only care about yourself and you will likely never change. It’s really quite depressing. What’s more, you won’t admit it.

Take the Universal Health Care issue. It’s a fact, that it helped more people than it hurt. A lot more. But if YOU didn’t benefit, you didn’t want it. I thought this country was founded on the principle that we helped each other out? Not anymore. It’s no longer We The People, it’s Me The Person. Tell me where I’m wrong. Please. Again, I know there are exceptions, but not many.

Now look at the power outage problem. Do you really think that the power company isn’t doing everything they can to get things back up and running? It’s bad for their business to have customers without power. I could see if they had faulty equipment that resulted in a massive power failure, but this was a big storm, and they are exhausting everything they have to get it repaired. Mother Nature caused this damage and THEY are spending THEIR money and man-power to get your power back on. You don’t care though, because all you know is that YOU are being inconvenienced. Gee, we are so sorry that the world doesn’t revolve around your fragile little infrastructure. Why don’t you hire someone, on your dime, to come clear all the debris from the power lines. Then let them know that you just wanted to do your part to expedite the repairs. If everyone did that, I bet they would have had power days ago. Until residents are willing to do that, they should just shut up.

Ultimately, this country is going to hell in a hand basket. I know it’s easy to blame the politicians, but they are just a microcosm of society. A society that lost its way a long time ago and shows no sign of a course correction. Maybe the solution to our problems could be best solved by practicing the things we tell our children everyday. Be thankful for the things you have. Be helpful to people in need. And most importantly, share and don’t be selfish. I guess when we decided to stop doing these things as adults, was right around the same time we learned the phrase, “do as I say, not as I do.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2011 by in Random Thoughts, Uncategorized.
